Liechtenstein has a constitutional hereditary monarchy with a democratic parliamentary foundation. The state’s authority is anchored in its people and its royalty. Since 1806, the sovereign Principality of Liechtenstein has been divided into two constituencies: Oberland and Unterland. Eleven areas form the Federation: Ruggell, Schellenberg, Gamprin, Mauren and Eschen belong to Unterland, whereas the areas of Planken, Schaan, Vaduz, Triesenberg, Triesen and Balzers together form Oberland. Both constituencies together form the whole country. The capital of Liechtenstein is Vaduz, and its most populous area is Schaan, with around 5,900 inhabitants. The entire country has around 36,500 inhabitants, of whom a third hold foreign nationality.
The Principality of Liechtenstein has no external debt, neither the country, nor its communities. The small size of the country has led to a policy of self-financing, because raising capital in the international financial market is effectively ruled out by the country’s size.